okay we're not going to lie. we like basketball. its a pretty sweet sport, come on who doesn't love watching 7 ft freaks of nature throwing a ball into a hoop? its awesome. now while the general concepts of basketball stay the same, it is impossible to ignore some of the other differences we see in the jump from college to professional basketball. So turn off your ESPN, recline your lazy boy and get ready for a jump ball of awesomeness.
Okay lets see were to begin on this topic. We're going to start on the basics: love of the game. yes arguably you can say with the addition of the 2005 rule making all nba players play at least one year of college ball some collegate athelets were just doing there one and done so they could go get the big nba paycheck. but seriously thats all it is for some of these guys. Hey kobe its cool to cheat on your wife, the lakers are paying you enough money so you can jsut buy her a big new ring and it'll be all good. besides with the lifestyle she's used to it be hard to find someone else to make enough money to fuel her consumer driven lifestyle. No wonder the economy sucks. were paying people whose only real skill is the ability to run real bad fast and put a little ball in a big hoop. They deserve 349849483 million dollars for beiing gifted with athletic genes. In college at least most of the players are actually there to be students of the game. Most of the players care that there team wins and beats thier rival, unlike the pros who care if thier team wins so they can get a bigger paycheck next season. we're glad americas economy is so bad, because it matters to us that our favorite basketball players can still own 7 hummers which can singlehandedly make a hole in the ozone.
point dose: america fuck yeah. okay were sorry but its ridiculous the amount of names you can't say of the nba players because there from lithuania, turkey, japan, WHATEVER. we know america is awesome but seriously are we better in everything? there has got to be a park where you can play in your home country. now we have to explain to our 12 year old children why their favorite player can't do interviews, oh yeah its cause he has no idea what people are asking him and we have no idea what he's saying. yes there are some strange names in college but at least these kids had to learn english in order to get in.
pt3: rules. 4 quaters vs 2 halfs, 5 vs 6 fouls, the three point line... the rules for the boys and men are different. Lets not forget to mention the fact you can walk about half court in the nba without getting a traveling call. just the other day in the lakers/magic game were pretty sure we saw luke walton walking his dog from the free thow line to the basket without getting any sort of violation. it's cool, rules are ment to be broken right?
quadlaser: finals. 40 days? 40 freakin days?!? thats how long the nba playoffs drag on. okay this season hasn't been to bad, there have been some quality games, but it is absolutly ridiculous that the playoffs/finals last that long. usually we aren't even so lucky and the divisions are so lopsided that the games are over before they even begin. on the other hand march madness might be the best 2 weeks of sports tv out there. Its short, its always sweet. plus you can actually afford to go see some games without taking loans out.
so to sum up what you should have concluded yourself: college basketball >>>>>>>nba.
daily bitch slap: kobe bryant. kobe your team just won the nba finals (again), you still have 5 different puppet commericals circulating around, AND every single announcer has a man crush on you. however, your still a douche. we don't like your face, enjoy your bitch slap
daily high five: taking back sunday. if you haven't picked up their new cd then get over yourself and pic it up. its only around $10 and it does not suck. we give it a higher rating than louder now for the most part. yes the band has gone through more line up changes than billy ray cirus hairstyles, but they've still got it. high five.
Sunday, June 14, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment