so it's september. summer is unofficially over but i'm sure it was full of fun, beaches, concerts, bike rides, sno cones, etc. another activity associated with summer are weddings. they're full of family, friends, and the celebration of love...i'll stop there to spare you of your gag reflexes. i went to a few weddings this summer for some of my closest friends and while i was happy to celebrate with them, being single doesn't help the awkwardness of the question everyone asks you..."so are you seeing anyone?"
GAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH (internal screaming in response to that question is an usual occurance.)
No, i'm not. okay? us bloggers will admit we're at the age were people may be in serious relationship, especially in our region of the world. while it's usually casually brought up in conversation with people you haven't seen for a while, ok, i understand you're curious. yet still, none of your business. but then you have those people who know your grandma's cousin's brother's aunt or your co-workers who ask you the question. seriously. wouldn't you just feel awkward asking that question? especially when you get a "no, i'm happily single, thanks?" because then how do you response to that? here's some of our favorites:
-oh someone like you will find someone to appreciate you
-seriously?! you're not seeing anyone? why not?!?!
-interesting...because my (insert someone they know) son isn't dating anyone right now...
while it's not a top priority in our lifes right now, doesn't mean we're avoiding being in relationships, we'd just prefer that it wasn't brought up. we like being indepedent, is there anything wrong with that? but really, the question just pisses us off. the next time you ask, here's a variety of responses we might use and you'll probably be so weirded out that due to awkwardness you'd probably leave the conversation. if you're in this same situation, feel free to use them as well:
-Yeah i am, but he's in jail for an undisclosed amount of time on indecent exposure charges
-yes, multiple actually, i'm just sorting them through to see if any of these guys are really worthy or not. there's too many to tell you and you probably wouldn't know them anyway.
-yes, i met him online. he lives in greenland and sells boats. we have internet dates everyother tuesday and sunday.
in conclusion, don't ask people if they're seeing anyone unless you have absolutly nothing else to talk about, which is never that case. unless they come out first and say something about their boyfriend/girlfriend...ok fine....but you never need to feel obligated to come out and say "I DON'T HAVE A BOYFRIEND/GIRLFRIEND." it's just stupid. and it's too big of a deal. don't be in a relationship just to be socially accepted. screw society, half of those people just want to impress someone and the majority of those aren't worth impressing anyway.
daily high five: jeans and sweatshirts. perfect outfit for perfect fall weather, especially at 8pm
daily bitch slap: tennis player melanie oudin. have you watched her play? she's alright, but have you HEARD her when she plays. it's the most awkward sound we've ever heard in sports. weird dudes.
Wednesday, September 9, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment